BCRSPA ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING April 8, 2014

The annual meeting of the members of the **BCRSPA** was called to order at 10:07 a.m. by President Edna Harris-Kurre at Columbus Gardens. President Harris-Kurre welcomed the membership and led all in the "Pledge of Allegiance."

President Harris-Kurre introduced the guests, E. Stuart Tucker, president MRSPA, Judith A. Zahren, Executive Director MRSPA, Parker Koons, Area II North Director MRSPA, Todd Sullivan, Representative of Oak Crest Retirement, and Jim Aldon, Tracey Carroll, and Kelly Marks of the Office of BCPS Employees Benefits.

President Harris-Kurre called for the members of the Executive Board to come forward for a brief meeting.

Plaques for Parker Koons and Weston Dean were presented by President Harris-Kurre. Mary Lou Brown accepted the plaque for Weston Dean.

President Harris-Kurre introduced Todd Sullivan who presented a check to the Scholarship Committee for \$500.00 according to the partnership agreement for BCRSPA members moving to Oak Crest Village or Charlestown Retirement Communities.

President Harris-Kurre encouraged new memberships and noted that the BCPS Employees Benefits office needed additional membership packets. She then declared the session for the business meeting opened.

Minutes: The minutes of the annual meeting of April 16, 2013 were approved as printed and inserted in the Committee Reports booklet.

Treasurer's Report: The Treasurer's report of March 2014 was distributed at the registration table. Treasurer David Peters commented on the decreased scholarship amount due to the decrease in membership. He read a thank-you letter from a last year recipient who is attending Grove City College. The Treasurer's report was filed for audit.

2014-2015 Budget: President Harris-Kurre moved for the adoption of the budget for 2014-2015 as printed in the Committee Reports Booklet page 5. There being no discussion, the budget was adopted by a show of hands.

Nomination of Officers: E. Stuart Tucker moved for the acceptance of the Nominating Committee Report on page 10 in the Committee Reports Booklet. President Harris-Kurre called for additional nominations from the assembly for President. There being no additional nominees, the nomination for president was closed. President Harris-Kurre called for additional nominations for Assistant Treasurer. There being no additional nominees, the nomination for Assistant Treasurer was closed. President Harris-Kurre called for additional Directors. There being no additional nominees, the motion for directors was closed. President Harris-Kurre declared the nominees elected as published in the booklet.

Installation of Officers: E. Stuart Tucker, President of MRSPA installed David Copenhaver as President and Clair Price, Donna Copenhaver and Jack Woodward as directors. E. Stuart Tucker declared all duly installed.

NEW BUSINESS

Retirement Trust Fund: Questions arose concerning the recent Maryland State Budget regarding the return of money to the Retirement Trust Fund by the State of Maryland. E. Stuart Tucker, President of MRSPA explained how the legislature was repaying the actuary funds and the short fall for the fiscal year. A question and answer session followed. During the discussion confusion existed over the association affiliation with AARP and the change from NEA. Many members were confused by the change MRSPA and MSEA.

New Mailing Address: President Harris-Kurre called attention to the change of the address for the association as posted on the back cover of the booklet.

President Harris-Kurre declared the Annual Membership Meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Robert L. Kane, Secretary

Mary Lou Brown and Mary Ellen Zimmerman conducted "Moments of Remembrance" for the forth-eight members who died during the past year.

E. Stuart Tucker, President of MRSPA thanked the association for their support and recognized BCRSPA members for their assistance especially George Sparks, Parker Koons, Don Roberts, Mary Ellen Zimmerman, Mary Lou Brown, Jean Pickens, Charlotte Price, Clare Price, Donna Copenhaver and David Copenhaver. He announced the MRSPA Event to be held in May is cancelled; however, the business meeting will be held on Tuesday, May 6, 2014 as published.

Judith A. Zahren, Executive Director of MRSPA spoke on membership recruitment and activities for members. The association works for the retirees in health care, services, and problem solving. She reiterated the MRSPA delegate meeting will be held.

Jim Aldon, Office of Employee Benefits of BCPS gave an update on health care. The contract is in effect until 2017 and there is no change in benefits at this time. After that date higher premiums of up to eight percent may be expected. He addressed the merger of Express Scripts

and MEDCO and that the Affordable Care Act has no effect on present benefits. Following his presentation there was a brief question and answer session.

Representatives from Cigna and Kaiser Permanente spoke of the current coverage and would answer specific questions at their table.

The meeting moved to the next room for lunch and the presentation of scholarship awards. Dr. Dance, Superintendent of Baltimore County Public Schools assisted in the presentation of the scholarship awards.