BCRSPA BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING May 21, 2013

The meeting of the Board of Directors of the BCRSPA was called to order at 10:00 a.m. by President Edna Harris-Kurre at Saint Isaac Jogues Cronin Center.

Review of Minutes: The minutes of the March 18, 2013 meeting were approved as e-mailed and the minutes of the Annual Meeting of April 16, 2013 were approved as e-mailed.

Treasurer's Report: The Treasurer's report was accepted for audit. Treasurer Dave Peters noted the liability insurance policy is due in July.

Announcements:

The entertainment for the Fall Luncheon on October 15, 2013, will be the Patapsco High School Choir as verified by Mary Ann Hughes.

The Baltimore County Teacher of the Year, Sean McComb of Patapsco High School will be sent an invitation to speak at the October luncheon meeting by President Edna Harris-Kurre.

MRSPA Delegates to the Annual Meeting were well represented by the BCRSPA delegation.

FCRSPA received the local association award and Parker Koons was honored at the MSPA Annual Meeting.

The favored entree choices on the survey items will be on the menus for our semiannual luncheons. Results are available upon request.

A survey of bus trip choices will be turned over to the travel committee when established.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

Archivist/Historian, Tree Margolis

All items have been stored in the archives at TABCO.

Budget, Jack Woodward

No report

Community Service, Kathy Dunkle

One hundred ten dollars in cash and checks, and twenty bags of groceries were delivered to the food bank.

Constitution and Bylaw, George Sparks, Jr.

No report

President Harris-Kurre indicated revisions will need to be made to be in compliance with MRSPA as a result of the delegates' convention. It was stated that changes had already been made previously.

Consumer Education: Joan Pickens

No report.

Health Care/Insurance, Maud Colgain

President Edna Harris-Kurre expressed the need to fill the vacancy on this vital committee. Several names were suggested and President Harris-Kurre will follow up with them.

Legislation, Don Roberts

Don Roberts reported on the past State legislation session. Due to his inability to move about the hearing rooms in Annapolis, Don verbally tendered his resignation and requested a competent replacement to Stu Tucker. He will still chair this committee for BCRSPA. A packet of legislation was distributed. Don Cautioned members to be careful when going to the hospital as being "admitted" was preferable versus "observation status."

Membership Accounting, Charlotte Price

11 New Members 5 Members reinstated 6 Deceased Members 16 BCRSPA Only Members (Increase since 3/1/2013 - 10 or 0.51%) 106 State Emeritus Members (Over 90) 111 County Emeritus (80-89) 167 Paid Cash Members 383 Unpaid Cash 1,849 MRSPA Dues Paying 1,754 BCRSPA Dues Paying

*138 Member Benefits Packet sent to new retirees There were more than 500 retirees this year and attempts to contact them will continue.

Membership Recruitment, Maryann Hughes

Materials and folders have been updated with the help of the Prices and the Copenhavers. President Edna Harris-Kurre was made aware of the printed BCRSPA tri-fold brochure that had been in existence and updated. New member folders/packets should be placed in the lobby of the BCPS Office of Benefits sometime in July when the office will move to Greenwood, Building B.

Nominating, E. Stuart Tucker

Stu Tucker reported all nominees for the 2013-2014 year have accepted the nomination and were installed at the Annual Meeting. President Harris-Kurre announced the new BCRSPA Executive Board Directory will be e-mailed to all.

Program, Parker Koons

Programs for the 2013-2014 year have been established.

Publication/UPDATE, Ed Veit

Ed Veit is working on the June publication which will include the "Early Bird" reservation for the October 15, 2013-luncheon meeting. The RSVP deadline for the luncheon must be strictly followed by all committees.

Remembrance Committee, Mary Ellen Zimmerman and Mary Lou Brown

Mary Lou Brown reported sending fourteen birthday cards in April and seventeen cards in May to members since the last meeting. The names of deceased members; John W. Maloney, Vera McCullough, Marie E Miller, Earl Palmer, and Ruby F. Shubkagle were announced.

Scholarship, Edith Kozlowski, Madeline Lovera, and Camille Marx

The Local Association Scholarships awarded in 2012 published by MRSPA were presented. Questions were raised about the incomplete information about our awards. The committee will file additional information not published to Stu for corrections. It was requested that MRSPA send the Scholarship award e-mails directly to the committee for completion. Edith Kozlowski read a thank-you note received from one of the recipients.

Travel Committee, Parker Koons

Parker reported on his investigation of bus trips and recommended having a spring trip if the Board approved. He will continue to fill this position until a replacement can be found. Favored member day trips will be in the June newsletter and were mentioned at this meeting.

Representative Reports

BCASCO, Weston Dean

Wes Dean reported the topics discussed at the last meeting especially the problems with the State

Legislation actions, "holding the line" on budget items and avoiding losing what benefits seniors now have.

TABCO, Jack Woodward

No Report

Jack will be contacted to help establish a meeting with TABCO to resolve concerns of this Board. Also to attend are President Harris-Kurre and President-Elect Dave Copenhaver.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

MSHOF Annual Meeting: Mary Lou Brown questioned not having a MRSPA table at their annual award luncheon, since our organization has sponsored a luncheon table for many years. Clair Price moved to support having a table of 10 at next year's award. Parker Koons stated a table cost \$23.00 per person. The motion being second, a discussion followed. Clair amended his motion to purchase at least five seats. The motion was adopted as amended.

Tax Exemption: President Harris-Kurre mentioned that we need to file for the 501C3 exemption for a non-profit status. Donna Copenhaver will pursue her contact with the IRS to get assistance.

NEW BUSINESS

Bylaw Changes: President Harris-Kurre stated the association needs to change the language of our Bylaws to be in compliance with MRSPA's Constitution and Bylaws. It was noted that these changes have already been completed previously.

Thank you: Clair and Charlotte Price were thanked by President Harris-Kurre for doing a great job of publishing the Committee booklet for the April BCRSPA Membership meeting.

Scheduled BCRSPA Executive Board Meetings: The BCRSPA Executive Board Meeting Dates 2013-2014 was distributed.

BCRSPA Board Picnic: The date of the annual picnic at Price's Saltpeter Creek Resort was selected for August 15, 2013, RSVP by August 5, 2013. Flyers were distribute to members.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:47 A.M.

The next Executive Board meeting is September 17, 2013 10:00 A.M. at St. Isaac Jogues Cronin Center, Room 4..

Respectfully Submitted,

Robert L. Kane, Secretary

The following members were in attendance:

| Mary Lou Brown | Robert Kane | Joan Pickens |
|-------------------|-----------------|--------------------|
| David Copenhaver | Parker Koons | Charlotte Price |
| Donna Copenhaver | Edith Kozlowski | Clair Price |
| Weston Dean | Tree Margolis | Don Roberts |
| Kathy Dunkle | Camille Marx | George Sparks, Jr. |
| Edna Harris-Kurre | Bonnie Patrick | E. Stuart Tucker |
| Mary Ann Hughes | David Peters | Linda Yaffe |
| | | |