BCRSPA EXECUTIVE BOARD MEETING January 21, 2020

Call to Order:

There being a quorum present, the meeting of the Executive Board of the BCRSPA was called to order at 10:04 a.m. by President Parker Koons at St. Isaac Jogues Church Hall.

Secretary's Minutes:

The minutes for September and October were accepted as printed.

Treasurer's Report:

As of the end of October, November and December, the BCPS Education Foundation has a balance of \$2, 366. The Treasurer's Reports for October, November and December were accepted and will be filed for audit.

Announcements:

Birthday wishes were extended to: Cindy Schultz - 10/2, Dave Peters - 10/7, Stu Tucker - 10/30 Joyce Cummings - 11/11, David Copenhaver - 11/15, BJ Rounsaville - 11/26, Caroline Seamon - 12/10. There are no birthdays in January or February.

Parker welcomed Janet Williams and Margaret Kidder who attended the meeting.

Wes Dean has retired from the Board due to illness. A motion was made by Donna Copenhaver to donate \$50.00 to the Scholarship Fund in honor of Wes. George Sparks seconded the motion. It was unanimously approved.

Breakfast with Colleagues:

A thank you was extended to Clair, Dave, Donna and David for their assistance before and during the breakfast. The amount of \$227.00 was spent for the wine, gift bags, flowers on the tables, song sheets and the candy canes.

Library Donations: The donations were given to Parkville Middle and Carney Elementary in October and December. Carney has purchased 72 books. They were very appreciative.

Hall of Fame: Parker has nomination forms if anyone knows someone who would qualify to be nominated. MSCHF also has forms on their website.

Program Booklet: These will be given out at the April Business Meeting. Committee chairpersons need to update the information about their committee and send to Donna by the end of January.

MRSPA will be selling raffle tickets to support their Scholarship Fund and a Mini Grant program. Donna made a motion for BCRSPA to buy \$100 worth of tickets. Jack seconded the motion. It was unanimously approved.

MRSPA gives mini grants to schools. This year Halstead Academy was a runner-up but did not receive any award. They wanted to use the grant to develop a drama club to produce a "Lion King" show. David made a motion to donate \$150 to Halstead Academy for this production. Cindy seconded the motion. It was unanimously approved.

MRSPA has offered assistance to help us grow our membership. They have offered to meet informally on February 5th if anyone is interested. It was decided that this meeting was not necessary due to all the initiatives we are doing.

Unfinished Business:

Technology – Our website is slowly getting updated. Della cannot update it by herself.

BCRSPA Telephone – Joyce Cummings checks the messages on the phone.

New Business:

Stu Tucker gave budget forms to those board members who are allotted money for their expenses. He asked that those members fill in a request amount for next year's budget and return the form to him by February 25th.

Several people are needed to sign up and bring breakfast treats for May and June.

Standing Committee Reports:

Archives/Historian - Caroline Seamon

No report

By Laws - George Sparks

No report

Community Service – Dave Peters

Twenty-three bags of food were collected and \$58 in cash. The amount donated to the Alzheimers Association was \$570. There were 4 large boxes of toys donated. It was suggested that next year we include ages up to 17 and label the boxes TOTS and TEENS.

Consumer Education – BJ Rounsaville

No report

Finance – Stu Tucker

No report

Legislation – Parker Koons

New leaders are in both Houses in Annapolis. There is pressure to fund the Kirwin Report.

Membership – Dale Rauenzahn

MRSPA total members -1,522

MRSPA dues paying members – 1,387

MRSPA Emeritus – 126

New BCRSPA members since 3/1/2019 - 20

BCRSPA dues paying members – 1,412

BCRSPA members only – 12 (8 Emeritus, 4 paid 2019-2020 dues, 1 auto deduction)

Data Analysis:

Decrease from last Report of September 1, 2019 -3.9%

Dale has sent 78 letters to non-renewed members. Only 1 was returned. 12 people have rejoined. 44 members have been lost. Dale has also given 60 packets with information about BCRSPA to BCPS personnel department to be given out. In the future he will combine our information with that from MRSPA's packets and deliver them to personnel.

Also, Dale has designed a poster with membership information to be put in schools, offices, bus depots, etc. if he can get approval for this. It was suggested that a copy of the poster be included in the packets that are to be given out. Dale will check into the cost of these items.

Nominating Committee – David Copenhaver

The Nominating Committee, consisting of Dale Rauenzahn, Doris Forster, Jack Nichols, Carol Mentzer and David Copenhaver, presented these names for the 2020-2021 year:

Cindy Schulz has agreed to serve another term as Assistant Treasurer

President – Donna Copenhaver

Vice President – Joyce Cummings

Director - Jack Woodward

Director – Margaret Kidder

Director – Barbara Falkenburg

This report was unanimously accepted.

Program – David Copenhaver

No report

Publication/Update – David Copenhaver

Dave is working on the March newsletter.

Public Relations – Patti Butler

Patti would like to work with Dale on publicity for membership. She plans to send information about BCRSPA to the local papers. She also would like to publicize the scholarship recipients.

Remembrance - Mary Ellen Zimmerman

There were 32 birthday cards sent out since the September meeting. A card sent to Irma J. Seitz was returned. A thank you note was received from Mr. James Iams for his birthday card. Deceased members are: Janet O'Rourke, Joan Block, Dr. Alice Kempner, Edward P. Nordberg, Eugene Amberman, Judith B. Glennon and Dr. Joe Hairston.

Retiree Benefits – Joyce Cummings

No report

Scholarship - Patsy Holmes

Applications are due by February 21st.

Student applications will be read after the Board Meeting on March 17, 2020. Volunteers are needed.

Social - David and Donna Copenhaver

The Cherry Blossom trip was cancelled.

Technology - Della Curtis

No report

The next executive board meeting will be held on Tuesday, March 17, 2020.

The meeting adjourned at 11:54 a.m.

The following members were in attendance:

Barbara Barzyk
Patti Butler
Cindy Schulz
David Copenhaver
Copenhav

Parker Koons Mary Ellen Zimmerman

David Peters

Respectfully submitted,

Barbara Barzyk Recording Secretary