BCRSPA ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING April 19, 2016

The annual meeting of the members of the BCRSPA was called to order at 10:02 a.m. by President C. David Copenhaver at Columbus Gardens. President Copenhaver welcomed the membership and led all in the "Pledge of Allegiance." The National Anthem was by recorded music.

President Copenhaver welcomed the members to the annual Spring Luncheon meeting and introduced the guests; Janet Williams, Area II North Director MRSPA, Nasrene Mirjafary, Manager, BCPS Office of Employee Benefits, Kelly Marks and Tracey Carroll, Retirement Specialists, Office of BCPS Employees Benefits and Dan Plakatoris, Sales Manager, Oak Crest Community.

Minutes: President Copenhaver called for the approval of the minutes of the 2015 annual membership Spring Luncheon meeting which were enclosed in the membership packets upon entering. There being no corrections or additions, the minutes were approved as printed.

Treasurer's Report: Treasurer E. Stuart Tucker addressed the Treasurer's Report as printed in the membership packets. The report showed that the income, expenses and assets were balanced and the expenses were within budget. He called attention to the Social Committee amount as not being over budget since this line item is inflated by the monies collected for various trips and social activities. The annual financial review took place in July, 2015 and all was found to be acceptable. The Treasurer Report was accepted subject to audit.

President Copenhaver delivered his annual report which can be found on pages three and four of the Committee Reports Booklet given to each member. He highlighted membership, the annual crab feast, activities of the social committee, and the need of four additional delegates to MRSPA convention this May. E. Stuart Tucker presented MRSPA proposed changes which will take effect in 2018, as printed in the packets. The BCRSPA delegation will vote on the proposed changes at the MRSPA Annual Meeting to be held on May 10, 2016. A discussion followed regarding the proposed Bylaws change eliminating the Emeritus member status and the proposed dues increase. George Sparks moved the delegation support the dues increase and the By-Law amendments. The motion was seconded. Based on the ensuing discussion, Stu Tucker moved to divide the motion into two parts. The motion to separate was seconded and passed. Edna Harris-Kurre moved to accept the increase in MRSPA dues; seconded by George Sparks. The motion failed. Ed Veit moved to support the proposed By-Laws changes which will include the termination of the Emeritus member status. The motion was seconded and passed. A retirement card for Judith Zahren will be at the bar for those wishing to sign it.

Introduction of Committee Chairpersons and Committee Reports:

Nominating Committee: Cindy Schultz, chairperson, report of the slate of officers recommended to the Executive Board is on page ten of the Committee Reports Booklet. The nominees for Directors were

Directors (2016-2018)

Patsy Holmes Jack Woodward Bill Groth There being no further nominations, the nominees were accepted by acclamation.

Community Service: Chairperson Dave Peters report is on page ten of the Committee Reports Booklet.

Budget 2016-2017: Chairperson Jack Woodward moved for the adoption of the budget for 2016-2017 as printed in the Committee Reports Booklet on pages four and five. There being no further discussion, the budget was accepted as published.

Archivist/Historian: Chairperson Caroline Seamon's report may be found on page seven of Committee Reports Booklet

Consumer Education: Chairperson B.J. Rounsaville's report may be found on page eight of the Committee Reports Booklet.

Membership Accounting: Chairperson Charlotte R. Price's report may be found on page nine of the Committee Reports Booklet.

Membership Recruitment: Chairperson Maryann Hughes' report may be found on page nine of the Committee Reports Booklet

Social: Chairperson C. David Copenhaver's report may be found on page eleven of the Committee Reports Booklet

Remembrance: Chairpersons Mary Lou Brown and Mary Ellen Zimmerman will present a remembrance service following the business meeting. The committee report may be found in the Committee Reports Booklet on page twelve.

Insurance/Health Care: Chairperson Joyce Cummings' report may be found on page seven of the Committee Reports Booklet

Scholarship: Chairpersons Camille Marx, Edith Kozlowski, and Madeline Lovera's report may be found on page thirteen. Scholarship Recipients will be recognized at the luncheon

Legislative: Chairperson Parker Koons' report may be found on page eight of the Committee Reports Booklet.

Publications/UPDATE: Donna Copenhaver, Editor's report may be found on page fourteen in the Committee Reports Booklet. She announced the UPDATE is available on line two to three weeks prior to the mailing date.

Constitution/Bylaws and Parliamentarian: Chairperson George Sparks, Jr.'s report is on page twelve of the Committee Reports Booklet. He asked Ed Veit to report on the revised bylaws which were published in the last edition of the UPDATE. He reported that the current Federal 501(c)7 plan permits our organization to endorse candidates since the Board of Education will have elected officials in the next election. Ed Veit moved for the adoption on the committee's report on the revised bylaws. The bylaws were unanimously accepted.

Installation of Officers: Janet Williams, Area II North, Director of MRSPA duly installed President Donna Copenhaver, and the officers for 2016-2017 officers of the association.

NEW BUSINESS

Ed Veit stood in recognition of President C. David Copenhaver's administration and asked for a standing ovation which was acknowledged by the membership.

President Copenhaver declared the Annual Membership Meeting adjourned at 11:28 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Robert L. Kane, Secretary

REMEMBRANACE

Mary Lou Brown, Donna Copenhaver and Charlotte Price conducted "Moments of Remembrance" for the eighty-eight members who died during the past year from March 1, 2015 to February 29, 2016.

UPDATES:

MRSPA Area II North Director Janet Williams thanked the members for their support of MRSPA and wished the association continued prosperity in the coming year.

Nasrene Mirjafary, Manager. BCPS Office of Employee Benefits asked that any concerns about any changes in the new prescription plan to notify her office at 443-809-8943

Representatives from Cigna and Kaiser Permanente were available for questions and inquiries.

The meeting moved to the next room for lunch and the presentation of scholarship awards.