BCRSPA Fall Luncheon Meeting October 16, 2018

The meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. at the Columbus Gardens, Belair Road by President Parker Koons.

President Koons welcomed the group and a minute of silence was held in memory of Mary Lou Brown, a Board member who recently passed away. President Koons led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance.

David Copenhaver introduced the Student Entertainment group, "Great Expectation's Show Choir" from Patapsco High School. The students performed a number of excellent songs and dances that they had learned since the beginning of the school year.

Following the program President Koons introduced the guests in attendance from MRSPA: Wanda Twigg - MRSPA EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, Janet Williams – AREA II NORTH DIRECTOR, and Anne Marie Downey - PRESIDENT OF MRSPA. Anne Marie spoke of the need to recruit new members. It is important to communicate to others all the things that each organization does. The tag line for this year and next for MRSPA is: CONNECTING, PROTECTING and MAKING A DIFFERENCE. She encouraged members to invite other colleagues to join the activities of the group. Wanda Twigg spoke about the need to vote and especially to vote for Question 1. Janet Williams thanked the group for the invitation and asked everyone to help recruit new members.

The Baltimore County Teacher of the Year for 2018 -2019, Brendan Penn, was introduced. Brendan is a teacher at Lyons Mill Elementary School. He spoke about his years of growing up on Long Island, attending private schools, his traveling experiences and the importance of Character before Career. He made the choice to go into teaching to help those less fortunate. The STEM program is very important to him and connecting students to hands on learning experiences from STEM professionals is necessary to help students move forward. He is also very involved in a Robotics Program started at the school.

A Nominating Committee needed to be elected to fill the offices of the Executive Board for 2019-2021. Two Board members, David Copenhaver and Dale Rauenzahn, will serve on the committee. Three others from the general membership have been nominated to serve: Carol Rowell, Jack Nichols and Doris Forster. A motion was made by Bill Groth and seconded by Donna Copenhaver to elect the three nominees, Carol Rowell, Jack Nichols and Doris Forster to the Nominating Committee and the motion was approved unanimously.

There will be a raffle for another quilt to benefit the Scholarship Fund. This has been donated by Della Curtis. Tickets will be \$1.00 each. The raffle will take place at the April Luncheon.

Representatives from BCPS Office of Employee Benefits were present. Nasrene Mirjafary, Manager, and Beth Thomas, a benefits representative, were in attendance. Representatives from Cigna and Kaiser Permanante were also present to answer any questions about their benefits. The meeting adjourned at 11:17 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Barbara Barzyk, Recording Secretary