BCRSPA Annual Membership Meeting April 16, 2019

The meeting was called to order at 10:03 a.m. at Columbus Gardens by Vice President Donna Copenhaver. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by those attending. Vice President Copenhaver thanked everyone for their generous donations to the Towson Churches.

Donna Copenhaver introduced the following guests: MRSPA Vice President, Charles Gable Area II North Director, Janet Williams Baltimore County Benefits Specialist, Kim Thomas Baltimore County Benefits Representative, Beth Thomas Two new BCRSPA members were introduced.

Minutes: Vice President Copenhaver called for the approval of the minutes of the April 17, 2018 Annual Membership Spring Luncheon Meeting which were included in the booklet. There being no additions or corrections, a motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes. The minutes were accepted as printed.

Treasurer's Report: Treasurer E. Stuart Tucker addressed the Treasurer's Report that was inserted in the booklet. There is currently about \$94,000 available for scholarships. Many memorial donations have been received as well as donations from Oak Crest for the BCRSPA members who reside there. Stu reported that all state and federal reports have been filed and the annual financial review has been done. The annual report was found to be acceptable and will be filed for audit.

Committee Reports:

Budget – The 2019-2020 Budget is found on pages six and seven in the Committee Reports Booklet. Chairperson Jack Woodward stated that less money is coming in because we have lost many members and the dues has remained the same. The predicted membership total was taken from the current member count. Member recruitment amount has been increased as we try to get new members. The Budget Committee submitted the budget report for adoption and it was accepted as printed.

Membership Recruitment – Donna Copenhaver reported that membership has declined statewide. BCRSPA has welcomed 10 new members since October. Our newsletters are being sent to the schools and a type of incentive program is being planned. Another "Meet and Greet" will be planned for later this year. Business cards will be printed and distributed. Donna encouraged members to submit any new ideas to her for increasing membership.

Bylaws– George Sparks moved, on behalf of the Executive Board, to combine the Membership Accounting Committee and the Membership Recruitment Committee and form one Membership Committee. The motion was unanimously approved.

Presentation of Nominating Committee's Slate of Officers:

Chairperson of the Nominating Committee C. David Copenhaver was unable to attend. Vice President Donna Copenhaver introduced the committee members and introduced the nominees. She opened the floor for additional nominations. There being no further nominations, a motion was made and seconded to close the nominations. The slate of officers for 2019-2020 are:

President-Elect – Donna Copenhaver Treasurer - E. Stuart Tucker Recording Secretary – Barbara Barzyk Corresponding Secretary – Linda Yaffe Director – Clair Price Director – Carol Rowell

There being no further nominations, the slate of officers was unanimously approved.

Installation of Officers:

MRSPA Vice President, Charles Gable, installed the newly elected officers and declared them duly installed.

New Business:

A motion was made to increase the scholarships from 8 to 10. The motion did not pass. An amendment was made to the motion to increase the scholarships as funds permit. The motion did not pass. The amendment and the motion were both defeated.

The Annual Business Meeting was adjourned at 11:05 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Barbara Barzyk Recording Secretary