BCRSPA ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING April 16, 2013

The annual meeting the members of the BCRSPA was called to order at 10:05 A.M. by President Edna Harris-Kurre at Columbus Gardens. President Harris-Kurre welcomed the membership and led all in the "Pledge of Allegiance."

President Harris-Kurre introduced the guests who were expected to be present: Doctor Dallas Dance, Superintendent of the Baltimore County Public Schools, E. Stuart Tucker, President of MRSPA, Carla Duls, Director of Area II North of MRSPA, Todd Sullivan, Representative of Oak Crest Retirement Community, and Jim Aldon, Tracey Carroll and Sharon Alston of the Office of BCPS Employee Benefits.

Todd Sullivan presented President Harris-Kurre with a check of \$500.00 toward the Scholarship Fund for a member of BCRSPA who moved to Oak Crest. President Harris-Kurre announced that Oak Crest will no longer donate money for referrals who move to Oak Crest. Donations will only be made for BCRSPA members.

President Harris-Kurre asked current members who know recent retirees to invite them to a future meeting since this information on recent retirees is no longer available to the Association. She will continue to seek a list of recent retirees from the BCPS.

President Harris-Kurre announced our Association is planning to assemble a pamphlet seeking new members which will be similar to the MRSPA pamphlet to be placed in the Office of BCPS Employee Benefits .

President Harris-Kurre then declared the Baltimore County Retired School Personnel Association annual meeting to be in session.

Minutes: The minutes of the BCRSPA Annual Meeting of April 17, 2012 were included in the "Committee Reports" booklet which members received upon registering. She asked for corrections or additions and upon hearing none declared the minutes approved as printed.

Treasurer's Report: Treasurer Dave Peters"Balance Sheet" and the "Profit & Loss Budget vs. Actual" report on the back were distributed to members at the registration table. He reported the "Money Manager-FFFCU" and the "Money Manager Scholarships" were one account and the interest rates should read "0.45%. The interest rates for the CD-12 Month-FFFCU #70 should read "1.00%." He reported the March bus trip to New York was a success due to the efforts of C. David Copenhaver. Profits from the trip were deposited into the Scholarship account. The Treasurer's report was accepted for audit.

Announcement: President Harris-Kurre asked members to complete the Entree flyer and Travel flyer and return them to the Registration table. She asked anyone interested in forming a Travel Committee to contact her.

Constitution Article V: Section 2. Dues: Treasurer Peters submitted a proposal to increase the current dues from \$10.00 to \$15.00. The current combined dues for MRSPA and BCRSPA are \$45.00 with \$35.00 to MRSPA and \$10.00 to BCRSPA. Under the increase as of July 1, 2014 the combined dues will be \$50,00, MRSPA \$35.00 and BCRSPA \$15.00. Following a discussion and vote by the members, President Harris-Kurre declared the motion accepted and adopted.

2013-2014 Budget: The Budget Committee report was published on pages four and five on the "BCRSPA 2012-2013 Committee Reports. Chairman Jack Woodward moved for the adaption of the report. Following a discussion of the motion President Harris-Kurre. declared the motion approved.

Nominations of Officers: Nomination Committee Chairman E. Stuart Tucker moved for the adoption of the report on page 10 of the "BCRSPA 2012-2013 Committee Reports." The slate of officers recommended to the Executive Board were:

President-Elect 2013-2014 David Copenhaver Recording Secretary 2013-15 Robert Kane Corresponding Secretary 2013-2015 Linda Yaffe Treasurer 2013-2015 David Peters Directors 2013-2015 Parker Koons Edward Veit

President Harris-Kurre received a motion to accept and a second; then declared the report adopted and requested additional nominations. There being no additional nominations the slate of officers was approved.

Installation of Officers: President Harris-Kurre deferred to MRSPA President Tucker for the installation of officers at the annual meeting. MRSPA President Tucker duly installed the newly elected officers for the Executive Board of BCRSPA.

There being no further business before the Association, President Harris Kurre declared the meeting adjourned at 10:35 A.M.

Respectfully Submitted,

Robert L. Kane, Secretary

Annual Remembrance Service for sixty-one deceased members was conducted by Mary Lou Brown and Mary Ellen Zimmerman.

MRSPA President E. Stuart Tucker addressed the membership and declared all is "alive and well."

MRSPA Area II North Director thanked the assembly and commented on the scholarships awarded. She also made an appeal for attendance at the MRSPA Convention at the Double Tree in Annapolis next May 2014.

Jim Aldon, BCPS Office of Employee Benefits presented changes taking place in the prescription and health benefits and the office will be moving back to Greenwood.

Kaiser Permanente representative Jennifer announced the BCPS health care has no cost or co-pay to its insurees.

The assembly moved to the Luncheon Area to honor the scholarship recipients.